Table of Contents
In order to file for divorce in Arkansas, you need to have the following documents: an Affidavit of Residency, Complaint for Divorce, and Financial Affidavit. These documents can be found online or in person at the local courthouse. You will also need to know the county and district court in which you are filing. Once you have all of these documents prepared, you can submit them to the court for processing.
Cheapest Way to File
The cheapest way to file for divorce in Arkansas is to do it yourself without a lawyer. You can find all the necessary forms online or you can go to the local courthouse and request a packet of the forms. You can then fill out the forms and submit them to the court for processing. You may also be able to file for divorce through a mediation service or other third-party, which can help save you time and money.
Separating Before Divorce
In Arkansas, the law requires you to live separately for a minimum of 18 months before the court will grant a divorce. This means that you and your spouse must live in separate homes, apart from each other, for at least 18 months before a divorce can be granted. If you wish to file for divorce before the 18-month period is up, you can do so, but the court may require you to provide proof of your separation.
The cost of filing for divorce in Arkansas will depend on the county you are filing in, as well as the services you use to file your documents. Generally, you can expect to pay between $200 and $500 in filing and court fees. You may also be required to pay additional fees for using a mediator or third-party to help with your divorce. Additionally, you may need to pay for legal fees and court costs if you decide to hire a lawyer.