Table of Contents
- Penalties for Shoplifting
- Fines for Shoplifting
- First Time Shoplifting Offense in North Carolina
- Shoplifting in California
- Cost of a California Lawyer for a Shoplifting Case
- First Time Petty Theft Charges in California
Penalties for Shoplifting
Shoplifting is a criminal offense that carries serious consequences. Depending on the severity of the offense and the state in which it was committed, consequences may include fines, jail time, probation, community service, and other punishments. In some cases, a conviction may even lead to a permanent criminal record.
Fines for Shoplifting
The fines for shoplifting vary from state to state, and depend upon the value of the stolen items. In some states, even the first offense can result in costly fines. In New York, for instance, shoplifting merchandise worth more than $1,000 incurs a fine of up to $15,000 and a prison sentence of up to 4 years. In Michigan, the maximum fine for shoplifting is $500, and the maximum jail sentence is 93 days.
First Time Shoplifting Offense in North Carolina
In North Carolina, a first-time shoplifting offense is a misdemeanor. The maximum punishment is a fine of up to $200 and/or imprisonment of up to 120 days. In addition, the offender may be required to complete community service or participate in a court-approved program.
Shoplifting in California
In California, the law provides for three levels of shoplifting offenses. Misdemeanors are punishable by up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Felony offenses are punishable by up to 3 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000. The severity of the offense and resulting punishment depend upon the value of the stolen merchandise.
Cost of a California Lawyer for a Shoplifting Case
The cost of a lawyer for a shoplifting case in California will vary depending on the complexity of the case and the experience of the attorney. Most attorneys charge an hourly rate, which can range from $150 to $400 per hour. Some lawyers may also offer a flat fee.
First Time Petty Theft Charges in California
In California, petty theft is defined as the unlawful taking of property with a value of less than $950. Petty theft is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. If the value of the property is greater than $950, the offense may be charged as a felony, which carries a maximum sentence of 3 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
3 thoughts on “Understanding the Cost of a Shoplifting Lawyer”
A lawyer can be costly, but it can be worth the expense when facing a shoplifting charge. Knowing your rights and understanding the legal system is invaluable.
Understanding the cost of a shoplifting case is useful; many lawyers offer fee structures that are quite reasonable.
Agree that lawyer fees vary depending on case. Idea: talk to lawyer before deciding if hiring them is best option.