Table of Contents
In California, you must report the accident to your insurance company within 10 days of the date of the incident. If you fail to report the accident within this timeframe, your insurance company may deny your claim or cancel your policy.
Filing a Claim
You should file a claim for damages with your insurance company as soon as possible after the accident. This should be done even if you do not think you are at fault for the accident. The insurance company will investigate the incident and determine who is at fault. If it is determined that you were at fault, your insurance company may be responsible for paying the damages.
If there have been any injuries or property damage in an accident, California law requires that a report be filed with the police. This report should contain details of the accident such as the date, time, location, and the vehicles involved. It should also include information about any injuries or property damage.
You should file the report as soon as possible after the incident. If you are unable to file the report within 10 days, you should contact your local police department and explain why you are unable to comply with the deadline.
Failure to report an accident in California can result in serious penalties, including fines and possible suspension of your driver’s license. If you have caused an accident and failed to report it, you may face criminal charges. It is important to contact your insurance company as soon as possible after the accident to avoid any potential penalties.